Curiosity Killed the Cate

Not yet, of course, but I’m sure someday it will…

November will be a dark month November 10, 2005

Filed under: Manhattan Life — catherineeliza @ 2:24 pm

Does anyone remember why I thought it would be a good idea to go back to school? Okay, that’s a bit extreme. But we all knew I was dramatic. I just got back from a wonderful, exotic vacation in Rio de Janeiro with Erin, and am now thrust back into the real world, and for me, that world is filled with schoolwork. Yes, I’ve reached that point in the semester where there will be no more playing around. My two classes (I know it’s only two, but I do have a job as well!!) both created a healthy workload, or so I thought. Now it’s double. Instead of finals (I think, but you never know) I have a wopper of a term paper for one class, and a wopper of a final project in the other (I get to create a professional looking website, database, and corresponding paper). I know, I know, anything worth doing is going to be hard, but sheesh. I so enjoy things that are easy.
I didn’t really mean to get up on my whiny soap box, I just need to excuse myself from writing a prompt post cataloging the adventures of Erin and Catherine in Brazil. Never fear, it is coming, it’s just going to take a little longer than I would have liked.
(You think either of my teachers would accept this blog instead of the icky projects they have in mind? It has the word librarian in the title and everything…)

P.S. Just spell checked, and the computer did not like the word wopper, but I do, so it’s staying. But one of the computer suggestions was Oprah!! Not only do I find this an unacceptable suggestion for wopper (how are those two words alike?) but how did Oprah get to be in the dictionary?

 

2 Responses to “November will be a dark month”

  1. Rachel Says:

    I like the word whopper, but I like to spell it like the candy. Because everything should be able to tie into candy somehow, especially if it’s good candy.
    I am glad you are back from your vacation and I will wait patiently for news of your trip until the Oprah of a term paper and project are finished.
    I also wanted to thank you for sending me that review of Absurd Person Singular when you did. I recently received an unfavorable review of my own in Variety and so it was nice to remember that I was in Tony nominated company. (Although my reivew wasn’t quite as bad as Mirielle’s.)
    Good Luck with the homework!
    I love your blog

  2. matt Says:

    My advice about the school thing (although it may be too late for this) is find a school with quarters instead of semesters. I wouldn’t have made it through grad school any other way.
    With semesters that last between 15 and 17 weeks, you hit week 8 or so and you feel like you’re going to die. With quarters that only last 10 weeks, when you get to week 8 you think, ‘Oh man, I better get my act together I only have 1 week left before finals.’ I don’t know about easy, but for those of us who sometimes lack the stamina for school, it makes a huges difference.


Comments are closed.